Our Committee

Committee of Management

Geoffrey Cunningham

Mr Geoffrey Cunningham (Grad Dip Acc., Grad Dip BS) joined BayCISS in 2021 following an introduction through his extensive involvement with the Rotary Club of Brighton.  During his 20-year association with the Rotary Club, Geoffrey has held positions of Vice President and Director.  Prior to his retirement, Geoffrey had over 40 years’ experience within the financial markets, both domestically as Head of Treasury, and overseas as Head of Capital Markets for major Australian Banks.  Living in Bayside for most of his life, Geoffrey is married and ‘Pa’ to 6 grandchildren.

Janet Matheson
Vice President;

Education Support Program Coordinator

Ms Janet Matheson (BBSc., Dip Ed., Grad Dip App Psych) joined BayCISS as a volunteer and has recently completed the Community Support Worker course offered by CISVic. She has extensive experience in the education sector including working as a secondary teacher, TAFE trainer, and in TAFE management.

Janet has also held a range of positions within the Department of Education specialising in regulations compliance and the development of quality standards.

Kat Mattila Miller

Rev Kat Mattila Miller has worked as the Associate Pastor for Beaumaris and Mordialloc Baptist Church since 2022. She has a passion for helping the local community and its people. In her current role, she has worked to grow her church’s partnership with BayCISS and find further opportunities to collaborate. Kat currently sits on the Justice and Advocacy Committee of the Baptist Union of Victoria.

Prior to Beaumaris-Mordialloc, Kat served as a Pastor at Albert Park Baptist Church, with a focus on community engagement and partnerships. Kat studied Ministry and Theology at the University of Divinity and is an Ordained Baptist Minister.

Arthur Hubbard
Committee Member; Risk & Governance Sub Committee

Mr Arthur Hubbard is a past Associate of the New Zealand Society of Accountants and has work experiences including Company Director and Consultant of Kumul Hotels, Director for Lasallian Foundation and Project Management with the ANZ bank. He has enjoyed placements in Tonga and Papua New Guinea as CEO, COO and CFO and is currently involved with Rotary Club of Brighton. Arthur is a strong advocate for volunteering and has worked tirelessly for many projects within the Asia Pacific region.

Glenda Harkin

Ms Glenda Harkin (ACCA, GAICD, GCCM) has worked in finance roles in the retail/consumer industry in Australia for over 16 years after relocating from Ireland. 

Glenda is an experienced CFO predominantly in the retail sector with experience in Finance, strategic transformation, systems and leadership. Currently she leverages her extensive experience as a consultant for private and ASX consumer brands.

Glenda originally joined Bayciss as a volunteer COM member from 2018 to 2021, and rejoined as treasurer in November 2023.

Daniel Czech
Committee Member; Chair Risk & Governance Sub Committee

Dr Daniel Czech (PhD., BSc.), is a biomedical educator and scholar whose professional aim is to develop equitable, evidence-based learning and teaching for all students.  With over 15 years’ experience in higher education, Daniel has built a robust reputation for pursuing educational excellence, with a strong interest in developing student employability and industry involvement in higher education.  Since joining the Committee in 2020, Daniel now Chairs the Risk and Governance Sub Committee progressing our commitment to continual improvement and governance compliance throughout all areas within the organisation.

Rose Paduano
Executive Officer

Ms Rose Paduano (B.A., Dip. Ed Psych, M.Ed Psych) joined BayCISS in 2022 from the Port Phillip Community Group where she was the Manager of Service Delivery and Operations.  With extensive experience as a psychologist and manager within both the Community and Education sectors, Rose brings a wealth of knowledge and expertise to the organisation.

Deb Carveth
Committee Member

Ms Deb Carveth joined BayCISS as a Community Information Volunteer in 2018. Deb works for Community Music Victoria where she is the Volunteer and Communications Coordinator and online editor. She gained extensive volunteer experience following her move from the UK where she obtained qualifications in Arts Management and History of Art and Design. Deb also enjoys playing the accordion, singing, running, cycling, reading and coffee, and is currently studying her Masters of Counselling at Swinburne.

Heather Stacy
Committee Member

Ms Heather Stacy AM (Dip App Sci (Ag) MBA GAICD) joined BayCISS in 2022. Heather is an experienced executive with a career in non-executive and executive roles in the corporate, government and not-for-profit sectors within Australia and internationally.  Her corporate career in Australia and overseas, spans Agribusiness, Industrial and Fast-Moving Consumer Goods sectors with business leadership and functional experience in stakeholder engagement, supply chain logistics, manufacturing and work health and safety.  Heathers’ contribution to rural Australia has been recognised through the Order of Australia and the Australian Rural Leadership Program.  Heather is currently serving as a non-executive director on the boards of Agricultural Innovation Australia, ProTen Ltd and the Rural Financial Counselling Service – Gippsland.

Kathy Walker
Committee Member

Ms Kathy Walker OAM  joined BayCISS in 2023. Kathy is highly respected for her expertise and skills in change management, effective communication and leadership, conflict resolution and relationship enhancement. She has worked in leadership and change management for over 20 years nationally and internationally.

She was an academic at RMIT university, Manager of Child and Adolescent Therapy Monash and was Founding Director of the international organisation  Early Life Foundations which supports parents /families and educators  in  the early childhood and primary sectors across the world.

Kathy is a recognised author  of 7 text books with Penguin Publishing and the Australian Council of Educational Research. 

She is also one of the country’s leading curriculum, teaching and learning experts in play based learning. Kathy is the designer of the first Australian play based learning approach, Walker Learning which is being implemented in schools and early childhood communities across the world.